top of page

Dead Composers Society, Signal Brass Festival, Gävle Symphony Orchestra, Gävle, Sweden - 26/10/18 @ 19:00

Gävle Konserthus, Kungsbäcksvägen 22, 801 37 Gävle, Sweden

Welcome to a musical tribute to brass playing with one of Europe's leading ensembles - Stockholm Chamber Brass. The concert is part of the brass festival Signal, which shows the amazing possibilities of brass instruments, ranging from hot lyrical tunes to trombones loaded with musical explosion.

The title ‘Dead Composers Society’ refers to the two works by Michael Nyman and Lukas Foss that frame the first half of the concert.  Michael Nyman's work reflects on the deaths of Miles Davies, Astor Piazzolla and John Cage; while in Lukas Foss' case it's about John Lennon.

In between these pieces Stockholm Chamber Brass and members of the Gävle Symphony Orchestra will offer music made famous by the artists who are remembered in Nyman and Foss’ compositions.



Michael Nyman (b1944) - For John Cage 
Thelonius Monk (1917-1982) - Round Midnight (arr. Urban Agnas)
Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) - Otoño Porteño, from Four Season of Buenos Aires (arr. Tom Poulson)
John Cage (1912-1992) - Solo for sliding trombone 
John Lennon (1940-1980) - Strawberry Fields Forever (arr. Urban Agnas)
Lukas Foss (1922-2009) - Night Music for John Lennon 
Leoš Janáček (1854-1928) - Sinfonietta (bearbetning av Heinz Stolba)

Gävle Symfoniorkester
Conductor: Stefan Solyom

bottom of page