top of page


Stockholm Chamber Brass are proud of the extensive range of works that they can offer in their programmes.
With pieces spanning over 900 years of musical history the group can tailor concerts to any specific needs.
Below you can find six suggested programmes, each with their own distinctive theme.

* indicates work composed for Stockholm Chamber Brass
^ indicates work arranged by Stockholm Chamber Brass

THE CATHEDRAL - Music In A Space

An atmospheric and dramatic programme that explores the endless possibilities of brass music in reverberant acoustics.

Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) - Improvisation around O Ecclesia

James MacMillan (b1959) - Adam’s Rib (1994)

Djuro Zivkovic (b1975) - Quintet Byzantine (2016)*

Karin Rehnqvist (b1957) - Valv - Vaults (1996)

Carlo Gesualdo (1566-1613) - Four Motets arr Urban Agnas^

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016) - Brass Quintet (1981)

Zivkovic Quintet Byzantine Ceremony I
Gesualdo Tu M'uccidi, o crudele
Gesualdo T'amo mia vita
Zivkovic Quintet Byzantine Ceremony II
Music Performance

OPEN MUSIC - The Modern Brass Quintet

A programme of works specially composed for Stockholm Chamber Brass.

Cathy Milliken - Espiral (2019)*

Fransisco Coll (b1985) - Brass Quintet (2019)*

Anders Hillborg (b1954) - Brass Quintet (1998)*

Mike Svoboda (b1960) - Open Circle (2018)*

Milliken Espiral
Coll Quintet I Prologue
Coll IV Canzona
Hillborg Quintet
Svoboda Open Circle
Music Equalizer

MOTION - Ragtimes and Dances

Let the quintet take you by the hand in this whirlwind of entertaining pieces.

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) - Ragtime for 11 instruments (1918) arr Joakim Agnas^

Tielman Susato (1510/15-1570) - Dansereye Suite arr Urban Agnas^

Joakim Agnas (b1969) - Tango (1996)*

Andrea Tarrodi (b1981) - Serenade to an Old Man (2012)*

Astor Piazolla (1921-1992) - Cafe 1930 and Nightclub 1960 from L'Histoire du Tango (1986) arr Urban Agnas^

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) - Dance Suite (1989)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) - Tango, Waltz and Ragtime from A Soldiers Tale (1918) arr Joakim Agnas^

Andre Previn (1929-2019) - Four Outings for Brass (1974)

Susato Gaillarde II
Stravinsky Ragtime for 11 instruments
Agnas Tango
Bernstein Dance Suite MTV(for Jerry)
Stravinsky Tango From The Soldier's Tale
Previn Four Outings For Brass VI.Vivace
Image by Denis Sebastian Tamas


A diverse menu of pieces that display Stockholm Chamber Brass’ comprehensive repertoire.

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643) - Suite from L’Orfeo and L’incoronazione di Poppea (arr. Urban Agnas)^

Mike Svoboda (b1960) - Dowland Suite from the Opera: Robin Hood, too good to be true

Victor Ewald (1860-1935) - Quintet No 1 (1912)

Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006) - Brass Quintet (1961)

Britta Byström (b1977) - La Fugitive (2004)*

Sven-David Sandström (1942-2019) - Heavy Metal (1991)*

Monteverdi Sinfonica & Moresca
Monteverdi Pur ti miro
Ewald Quintet No. 1 III. Allegro Moderato
Arnold Quintet No. 1 I. Allegro vivace
Sandström Heavy Metal
Image by Artem Sapegin

MASQUES - Shakespeare in Love

Brass quintet and actor combine for tales of the ecstasy, insanity and despair of love.

John Dowland (1563-1626) - The Earl of Essex Galliard; Semper Dowland semper dolens; The King of Denmark’s Galliard; Mr Giles Hobies Galliard (arr Christian Lindberg)

Molly Kien (b1979) - Variations on a Haircut (2014)*

French Renaissance Chanson Suite (arr Stefan Gustavsson)

Love’s Masque for brass quintet and narrator. Music by John Dowland, Thomas Tallis, Orlando Gibbons among others; Text by William Shakespeare and Magnus Florin*^

Dowland The Earl of Essex Galiard
Dowland Semper Dowland semper Dolens
Kien Variations on a Haircut
Kien Variations on a Haircut 2
French Renaissance Chanson Suite i Tourdion
French Renaissance Chanson Suite v La, la, la, je ne l'ose dire
Pink Marble

DEAD COMPOSERS SOCIETY - Quintet and Orchestra

An eclectic programme for quintet and orchestra where the music of Cage, Lennon, Monk and Piazzolla inspire two original works for brass ensemble.

Michael Nyman (b1944) - For John Cage (1992)

John Cage (1912-1992) - Solo for Sliding Trombone (1957/58)

John Lennon (1940-1980) - Strawberry Fields Forever (1967) (arr Urban Agnas)^

Thelonious Monk (1917-1982) - ‘Round Midnight (1947) (arr Urban Agnas)^

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) - Autumn from The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires (1969) (arr Tom Poulson)^

Lukas Foss (1922-2009) - Night Music for John Lennon for Brass Quintet and Orchestra (1981)

Image by Eric Awuy
bottom of page